CASHMERE SCHOOL DISTRICT #222 Work Session September 6, 2016

CALL TO ORDER:

Chairman Tom Christensen called the meeting to order at 6:31 AM.

DECLARATION OF QUORUM:

Board members Glenn Adams, Kelly Green, Roger Perleberg and Paul Nelson were present. There were seven others present including Superintendent Johnson.

1.0 Flag Salute

- 1.1. Chairman Christensen led the Pledge of Allegiance.
- 2.0 <u>Approval of the Agenda</u> On a motion by Roger Perleberg, the Board approved the agenda as presented.
- 3.0 Reports, Correspondence and Program
 - 3.1 <u>Superintendent's Report</u>
 - 3.2.1 <u>Construction Update Gary Wetch, Loofburrow & Wetch Architects</u> Gary Wetch, Construction Manager Don Kearby and Construction Specialist Andy Tetlow attended the Board meeting in order to review the construction bidding process and timeline and share with the board about the construction management services that they offer. According to the WAC, construction management is required for all projects greater than fifty thousand square feet and receiving state matching funding. Given that the high school modernization project both exceeds the 50,000 square foot threshold, and will be receiving state matching funds, construction management is required.

Superintendent Johnson stated that the district has hired a "clerk of the works" to monitor all previous district projects. He stated that this provides both quality assurance as well as significantly reducing the amount of change orders that happen during construction that drives up the cost. Mr. Wetch indicated by utilizing a combination of district employees and his firm to provide the construction management and project oversight, the district will be eligible to claim the full allocation from OSPI related to these services. In addition, all district employees time related to the projects will be eligible for reimbursement.

4.0 <u>Adjournment</u>

On a motion by Paul Nelson and there being no further business to discuss, Chairman Christensen adjourned the meeting at 7:50 AM.

Secretary

Chairman